Train of Thought

 

The train rattles along the tracks

like a great steal snake skimming the horizon

to slip into its many nests.

Station to station.

 

I look out the window and see

light grey clouds,

a seraphic halo

warmly caressing

their feathery underbellies.

 

For me,

it is the perfect moment

and then for others, I realize

it is not

 

Before my mind can meander to another’s,

I bring my own form of cerebral transportation

to a shrieking, stuttering stop.

I chastise.

 

For almost thinking about being someone or somewhere else.

For taking that perfect moment away from myself.

Leave a Reply

